Wiki

Case Status
Log In

Wiki

 
OASIS Cloud Backup
  • RSS Feed

Last modified on 7/23/2017 6:46 PM by User.

Tags:

OASIS Cloud Backup

Overview

OASIS Cloud Backups are an option for ensuring that your data is available, even if your server is physically damaged or even missing. All data is copied to one of our cloud servers while you work without installing any extra software. If your server has a catastrophic failure, we can move you to our active cloud servers, allowing you to get back to work - even before your new server arrives from the factory!

Just follow these steps to get started and monitor the process.

Starting Cloud Backups

To start OASIS Cloud Backups, you must first call the OASIS Support line. This is an additional service and we have to configure disk space as well as security on our server. Depending on the size of your database, you will have one of two options:

  1. If your database is under 50 GB and you have a high speed connection to the internet, you can get started immediately. A full copy of your database will push to our cloud server automatically.
  2. If your database is over 50 GB or if your internet connection is limited, then you will need to perform the setup steps below and then send us a backup of your database. This jump starts the process by speeding up the initial copy of your database to our server. Only changes will be sent later.

After you are set up on our Cloud Backup server, follow these steps after all users have quit for the day:

  1. Log into OASIS with an OASIS administrator account after ALL users have quit for the day. Information can be lost or corrupted if a user is logged in.
  2. Select "Configuration" then "Software":
  3. Click on "OASIS Cloud Services":
  4. Click "Start Sync" (DO NOT DO THIS BEFORE OASIS SUPPORT HAS YOU SET UP ON OUR CLOUD BACKUP SERVER.) This process may take up to one hour as the system identifies and queues data to be backed up.

That's it. The backup will run as you do other work in OASIS. After a few days, it is recommended to check the status of the backup. The "Synchronization never completed message" should go away and the "Queued" number should normally read just a few hundred data objects to be backed up.

If you were instructed to create a physical backup of your database to send to us, create that backup now.

Monitoring Cloud Backups

The backup process happens automatically as you are working in OASIS. When you save a transaction in OASIS, it is queued for backup. Then as you are thinking about what to type next, OASIS sends the next item on the queue to the backup server.

To check the status of the process, begin by opening the Cloud Sync Status window as shown above.

Here are the items to pay attention to:

  • "Synchronization never completed" should go away after a few days. Contact OASIS Support if the message does not go away.
  • "Queued" on the arrow pointing to the cloud: This is the number of transactions and other data objects remaining to be backed up. This number should be about 100. If the number is higher, then you may need to stay logged into OASIS longer throughout the day. Just minimize OASIS when reading email or working in other applications.
  • (The Queued 0 pointing away from the cloud is the OASIS Cloud Sync service, which is separate from the Cloud Backup service.)
  • The information at the bottom of the window ("Starting receive" ....) is the last action taken by the backup software. Just look for today's date. If you don't see today's date, contact OASIS Support.
  • In the cloud itself, you should see "Ready". This indicates the network and the cloud server is ready. If you see anything else, contact OASIS Support.

Stopping Cloud Backups

REMEMBER: If you stop Cloud Backups, then the only way to restart cloud backups is to complete an initial full backup. If your database is over 50 GB, then you will need to create a new backup to send to OASIS support.

If for some reason you need to stop cloud backups, return to the Cloud Sync Status window as shown above.

Press the "Stop Sync" button:

Remember: This is your very last chance. Pressing "Yes" will stop the service. To restart, a full backup must be started with OASIS Support.

Cloud Backups and Remote Users

The cloud sync is triggered in the background when a user logs into Oasis and the sync is not already active. That user's session "controls" the sync while they are logged in. When a user is working remotely through a VPN, for example, this might slow the sync down noticeably and in some cases slow down database performance for all users. It is best that remote users' sessions not be allowed to trigger the sync. This can be configured within OASIS by an OASIS administrative user.

Under Configuration > Software, click Preferences, then uncheck the box in the Database tab: